The Honor of the Muslim

“It was narrated to me by the leader of the Islamic Movement in Jordan – our teacher, Muhammad ‘Abd ar-Rahman Khalifah:

“I learned the meaning of honor from a story. When I was young, the judge of as-Salt (a town in Jordan) became ill. I was in my sixth year of elementary school, and I decided to go visit him. So, I went and rang the doorbell. He came to the door, and I said to him: “I am the son of ‘Abd ar-Rahman Khalifah, and my father has sent me to come visit you.” The judge said to me: “Please come in, my son.”

So, I entered to find that the heads of the Christian community had all come to visit him because of his illness. There was the priest of the Orthodox Church, and the Latin Church. Anyway, these were two churches in as-Salt. When I entered the room – and I was only a young boy at the time – he said to the head pastor: “Get up and sit over there,” and he said to me: “Come, my son, and sit next to me.” He then looked to the pastor and said to him: “This is how my religion commands me to behave with you, so, if I come to visit you, then behave with me as your religion commands you.”

Muhammad Khalifah then told me: “At that moment, I realized that the Muslim is noble, and that he is the most honorable of people.””

[From a lecture given on October 29, 1987]

One Response to “The Honor of the Muslim”

  1. ikhlaas5156 Says:

    how did the incident show him that the muslim is noble and honorable? can u please clarify?

Leave a Reply

